Detoxification (Spring Cleaning?)

Whew.

I’ve been feeling great these past few days. I’ll admit, today was a bit rocky at first, but I think it was because we stayed at my in-laws house two nights in a row and I wasn’t used to the bed.

Why have I been feeling good? On Thursday, April 5th, I decided to go vegan. Here is the main reason why:

easter-2007003.jpg

My face is out of control, and much of the research I’ve been doing lately has suggested that I stop consuming dairy. I figured, what the heck, I’ve been wanting to see if I could be a vegetarian, so what’s going one step further and being a vegan?

So far, it’s been really easy. I’ve only had one time, which happened to be last night,  when I was very hungry and wanted to eat something chemical-filled (like, oh, several fresh baked cookies). But I keep thinking about this picture. This is the worst that my skin has EVER been in my life, and I’m 27 years old. I’m keeping it simple, eating mostly fruits, veggies, and healthy fats. The only grains I’ve been eating are oats (today), and I had rice Friday night at a sushi restaurant. I’m weaning myself off of the artificial sweeteners (I still have to have splenda in my coffee) and I’m drinking more water.

I’m not sure how long I’m going to do this. I will definitely keep going for a month so that I can see if it really makes a difference in my face. I know for a fact that it’s already helping my mind–eating this way takes the pressure off of me.

Leave a Reply

