Mother’s Day

This weekend went fairly well. Unfortunately, Friday night was not one of my stellar evenings–I stuffed myself for no real reason, even though I did not want to do it. Saturday I did well, and Sunday was good until I popped a bag of popcorn at midnight. I went to bed at 10pm, but could not go to sleep. This has been going on for about a week, and last night I was practically tossing and turning all night long, despite my use of Valerian root and a small glass of rum and cranberry juice. I’ll be lucky if I workout today, since I certainly can’t do heavy physical activity with a caffeine IV.  I didn’t binge last night, but I didn’t need the popcorn. Oh well.

Looks like I will be spending this Sunday with my Mom and sister. This morning I finally told my Mom how much it hurts that we don’t spend time together–this was after she told me that she could only spend 3-4 hours with me on Sunday because she had to go to church. Now, I understand how important church is to her, but I haven’t seen her since Christmas. I’m driving about 2 hours to see them. It bothered me that she had to put a time limit on our time together. At least I said something about it this time, and she said she was sorry, and hoped that we could get together more often. My sister asked what I will be getting Mom for Mother’s Day. I have no idea what she likes. We’re so distant. Come to think of it, I don’t really have anyone I’m close to anymore.

On top of that, I’ve gained weight, and I’m not sure how things will go. I’m sure my sister looks smokin’ hot, since she recently had breast augmentation and puts a lot of effort into her appearance. My Mom has recently lost weight, too, by practically starving herself.

It’s my last Monday at my job. I’m meeting with my replacement (my co-worker who is getting promoted) this afternoon to give her the lowdown on what I do. That shouldn’t take too long.

2 responses to “Mother’s Day

  1. I lived interstate for 14 years. I was not very well off so I could not travel interstate to visit my mother. she had money and holidayed interstate but did not visit me once, not even when I had children. I moved back last year. I live 30 minutes away from my mother now. she only visits me when my sister wants to. She visited me once when my sister was out but I was not allowed to say anything! It’s very hurtful and your post just inspired me to write to my mum and ask if she can spend some more time getting to know me alone before I have to move again

  2. incessanthunger

    Gosh, that’s really similar to my situation. When I was in college, my Mom only visited me once–at graduation. Granted, I lived about 700 miles away, so I could understand that. When I moved back, we lived about 45 minutes away. She could come to my town to shop, but not to just stop by and see me.
    Hope you and your Mom get to reconnect again.

Leave a Reply

