welcome back

I don’t know how I did it, but I really made it through last week alive, still married and still with all of my faculties. This weekend went by in a blur; my friend moved into a new house, so on Saturday, after DH and I walked Sadie, rode our bikes, and cleaned house, I went over to her house to check things out. Then Sunday was the ubiquitous Mother’s Day lunch with my sister and my Mom. I’m still not sure how I feel the day went. Of course, we talked about weight and I listened as they discussed diet pills, etc. I made my point that I am sick of diets, and that Weight Watchers is really Weight Re-gainers.

Both my Mom and sister agreed that I used to look sickly, and these extra 20-25 lbs (remember, the scale is gone) look good on me. Of course, I wonder if they were just putting me in my proper place as the one who wears size X, and not a size 8.

Enough of all that, though. Today was my first day not working my office job. As of today, I am officially preparing for teaching this fall. I’m taking this week as a vacation week–DH and I are going to the beach on Wednesday, and I’m going to clean out my closet and keep on top of my workouts. I also need to take care of a few things on campus(forms and such) for my class that starts June 11. I keep having to remind myself that I deserve this. I could *NOT* do it any longer.

It feels good.

4 responses to “welcome back

  1. “Weight Watchers is really Weight Re-gainers”

    I love it!

  2. Welcome Back! I was wondering what you were up to!

    Also had a *giggle* at “Weight Watchers is really Weight Re-gainers”.

  3. incessanthunger

    Hey guys! Yeah, I took a few days off to finish a lot of crap I had to do for work. I wanted to work far enough ahead to make it easier on them.

    I just hate that WW teaches you how to lose, but not really how to maintain. I tried to tell my Mom and sister that we all know *how* to lose, it’s keeping it off that is the problem. They just keep looking and falling for the next quick fix. Of course, I’ve had my hand at crash diets, myself. I totally understand being desperate. . . It’s almost as if being the voice of reason in front of my family is also confronting my own internal struggles with dieting. . .

  4. Just back from vacation and wanted to pop in to say hello and see how things are going in your world! Looking forward to getting back to reading and commenting regularly again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

