All Skinned up

First, never think you can take your dog for a jog after you’ve:

A. Got her all stirred up by playing rough with her

B. Done the complete Jari Love Ripped to the Core workout

Let me tell you a painful story. After doing RTTC, I figured that since I was already sweaty I would grab some water and take Sadie to the levee for a walk/jog. We had been rough housing off an on all morning, so she appeared to have bountiful energy with which to jog with me. I thought to myself–it’s the whole 2 birds bit. . . she gets to use up her energy and get out of the house, and I get a second workout. Cool!

Not cool. About 10 minutes into it, I started to jog. Sadie has this thing she does where if she’s excited, and you’re running, she’ll jump in front of you. After my repeated “NO! SADIE, STOP!” She seemed to be doing okay. I tried to adjust my MP3  player while running, and of course she decided to try to jump in my face again.

I tripped.

I landed on a gravel road on my knees. I am sick to my stomach just thinking about the crunching. Ugh. Needless to say, my knees are fucked. Especially the right one. Apparently I put most of my weight on that one before I bounced back on my ass.

I was so mad.

So here I am, repeating, “OMG. Fuck!” and stealing glimpses of the mangled flesh of my knee, and Sadie decides the fun isn’t over. She’s having fun watching me in pain and cursing. I think the blood made her slightly mad, because she kept looking at me and rushing off, running in circles while I still had the leash in my hands. It was madness.

Finally, I got myself up and surveyed the damage again. Yep. I had to turn back. My right knee had a skin flap, and it burned like the many times I’ve burned myself on our stove or with my flat iron.

And of course, the first think I think is. . . “I’ve got to take pictures for my blog.” Snort!

I decided to put the pics after the jump because they are disgusting.

Enjoy the slideshow!

4 responses to “All Skinned up

  1. I am SO wincing with pain right now! You poor baby! Take care of yourself and heal up soon!

    Much love,
    Jen

  2. incessanthunger

    I know. It’s sick.

    It’s killing me to not be able to workout. I’m also afraid to leave the house because I’m not sure how to wear pants (weird statement, to say the least!).

    I just have to wait. I’ve been doing a lot of that recently.

  3. Gah. Ack! I hope it heals quickly!

  4. OMG, those are some nasty knees. I hope you heal soon! My knees hurt just thinking of it. {{{HUGS}}}

Leave a Reply

