happy hump day, y’all

Whew, my tag was successful. Woo-hoo, Jen!

 So there are quite a few updates on my life at the present.

1. I am no longer employed. I called the Headmaster yesterday and told him that no, my opinions haven’t changed and I am not a Neo-Confederate Conservative after thinking about it for 4 days. Now I have to bring their books back. Hopefully, DH will go with me one day after school so that I can have some emotional support–I’m greatly disappointed in the way this job turned out.

2. I have not had any alcohol in over a week, nor have I felt compelled to binge. I’m seriously thinking that I am at my worst in the 1-1/2 weeks before my period–and this is all new to me. When I was younger, not only did I have a very light cycle, but I never experienced PMS or any real mood changes. As I approach 30, my body is experiencing many new challenges, so it seems. Yay, body! (sarcasm, anyone?)

3. On the knee front, things are doing well. The right one still looks disgusting, but it has at least closed up. Monday I was able to workout–I did an hour of elliptical/weights. Then yesterday I ran intervals on the treadmill for 25 minutes followed by 20 minutes of the elliptical, and no knee skin-flap issues.

4. I have been cleaning and organizing like it is my job. Yesterday, I tackled the big tub that held my Master’s thesis resources. With all of our moves and what have you, purging crap has not been a priority. Thus, we have been hording some serious junk. Not anymore! (I have a pic of the crap I’ve been sifting through, but DH took the camera to school today.)

5. I’m not dieting. 🙂

6. I’m not freaking out. Emotionally, I’ve been on a pretty even-keel. Getting back into my workout routine and not worrying about calories, etc, has made me feel okay. Also, I just feel put together, despite the unemployment. I must admit I shed a few tears yesterday after my husband got home, but he held me and reassured me that I did the right thing. I love that man.

12 responses to “happy hump day, y’all

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling good . . . you have a lot to feel good about. I think you definitely made the right decision. And I’m glad your knees are healing and that you were able to exercise — I’m sure the endorphins are helping a lot.

    As far as the PMS issue goes, I was appalled when I hit 30 and symptoms I hadn’t had since I was a teenager reappeared — cramps, moodiness, and ugh bloating. I think these come in cycles (well, obviously! but I mean over years).

    I need to do a better job of tracking my moods against my cycle so that I won’t be shocked when I have a teary or bingey day.

  2. incessanthunger

    I know. I never really noticed until my last few cycles. That’s when it gets really bad. I hope there is something I can do that doesn’t involve BC pills. I need to take my fish oil again–I always forget to take pills.

    I really do feel good. I’d go as far as to say I feel like a normal person. I look back at a week and a half ago and gasp! I was a trainwreck. This is why it is so hard on DH and I–half the month, I’m normal, and apologizing for being crazy. The other half, I’m livid and like hell I’d apologize! There’s gotta be a median!

  3. I hear you on the PMS thing. I’ve been on the pill since my first year of college and never had any real PMS symptoms to speak of (and the ones I did have were really minor…tiredness, a bit of irritability). Now..hah! They are full force, and include acne! What the heck?!

    Sorry to hear you had a bit of a rough day with the job stuff, but I’m glad you were able to come to a decision that you’re truly comfortable with. (I think it was the right one, for what it’s worth). Hang in there and keep thinking positively!

  4. incessanthunger

    Thanks, Jen.

    What’s up with the adult acne? It’s terrible. I’m using the Murad kit right now, but this year has been terrible for my face. What do you do for it?

  5. you are an amazing woman on so many fronts! and you can keep doing it.

    I’m 29 and this was the first year I had a ferocious cycle too. I’d say it lasts 2 weeks.

    take care!
    ae

  6. incessanthunger

    AE, don’t tell me that it doesn’t stop! I turned 27 this year, and I keep hoping it will level out. Maybe I need to hit the health food store and get some Evening Primrose Oil.

    Thanks for the support, too. You all make me feel so glad to be a part of our blogging community. 🙂

  7. I am so happy to read that you are doing well!! I think that you made the right choice about the job; you have to stand up for your beliefs because no one else can do that for you! You Rock!

  8. oh yeah, the acne! what’s up with that? I have been using the Philosophy kit but I feel like I could get better results. I have heard that a line called Joesoef is pretty good but haven’t tried it yet. it’s so fantastic trying to dodge zits AND wrinkles at the same time.

  9. incessanthunger

    Thanks, Christie! I hate to say it, but I think I deserve to feel good–finally!

    Sarah, so far I’ve seen some results with the Murad kit–more than Proactive which made my skin very oily. I still have these tiny bumps on my forehead. I’ve never had a problem with this before now. I guess it provides physical relief in contrast to the wrinkles forming! Ha!

    I don’t even mind the fine lines or the gray hair. It’s the hormones and the zits that have me panicked.

  10. “I called the Headmaster yesterday and told him that no, my opinions haven’t changed and I am not a Neo-Confederate Conservative after thinking about it for 4 days. ”

    You make me laugh! And, I agree with your DH that you did the right thing. That school was obviously not a good match for you. I’m also so glad to hear that things are going better for you.

  11. If you can believe it, I finally broke down and went to the dermatologist. All of the over the counter stuff was drying me out too much…and yet it wasn’t curing the acne. So, in frustration, I finally went to the doc. He actually shared with me that this is really normal for us 30 something gals, and that they’re doing a lot of studies right now on it, as they’re seeing it more and more. And, as you might have guessed, they’re attributing it to a hormonal shift that occurs in the early 30s. Yay us…. Anyway, I’m on Cleocin lotion 2x a day (which is a topical antibotic and works like a charm) and Finacea 1x a day…it’s great stuff! Actually used to treat rosacea a lot, but way less drying that other stuff and far more effective. Not to mention that it takes the redness out of the zits…which rocks!

    Oh…and so far, just one persistent gray hair for me. It gets pulled each time it appears! 😉 The wrinkles however…yeah. They’re here to stay.

  12. Ugh, I was afraid of that. I need to go to a dermatologist, I guess. I just hate going through all of the rigamarole of a DR’s office, KWIM? Plus, the Derma is not covered on our insurance (what frickin’ is?).

Leave a Reply

